| NEWS SEC basketball coaches OK with longer 3-point shot - Times Free Press

B

Bama News

The Auburn Tigers led the NCAA this past season in men's basketball with 454 made 3-pointers and with 1,204 3-point attempts.

Kentucky, which was upset by Auburn in the Elite Eight of the NCAA tournament, ranked 316th nationally with 607 long-range tries.

Despite their drastically different methods of attack, Auburn coach Bruce Pearl and Kentucky counterpart John Calipari are both fine with the NCAA's decision earlier this month to extend the 3-point line from 20 feet, 9 inches, to 22 feet, 1.75 inches. The new distance mirrors what is used in international competition.

"I'm not a big proponent of shooting 40 3s, and if you are, your percentage is going to go down now," Calipari said Thursday during the annual Southeastern Conference summer teleconference. "I think it will make the game more about moving and spacing and open up the lane a little bit more. It will play out, but for young kids to say, 'That line has moved back, but we'll shoot the same percentage' — I just don't see that happening.

"I think percentages will come down, and now a coach is going to have to make the choice of shooting that many 3s or be more of a driving team."

The extended 3-point line was used on an experimental basis in this year's National Invitation Tournament, with teams in the NIT field actually attempting more 3s in the tournament per game (23.1) compared to their regular-season totals (22.8). The new length did have an effect on the accuracy, with the NIT teams making 33% of their long-range attempts after making 35.2% in the regular season.

NCAA Playing Rules Oversight Panel members approved the change after receiving positive feedback from coaches whose teams competed in the NIT.