| FTBL javier arenas

rnash

Verified Member
This is my first time posting and I do not wish to place myself in a bad light, but I feel that I must ask this question. Is it just me or does anyone else feel like Javier is not as enthusiastic about the punt return as he once was? I could be wrong here but it seems that he is making more mistakes. Is he too enthusiastic about making the big play, or is he just tired. I understand that he plays every down on defense.

Well,it's like Big Cody,When people expect you to do something to make them look bad...They're going to do everything in their power to make sure you don't. Javier hasn't a had much of a chance to return much this year due to good coverage from the kicking team.So,It's not Javies fault. Just good Special Teams play by the enemies.

Well, he isn't getting much room to run on most returns, and he can't be faulted for that. He's made some poor decisions on not fair catching the ball, but that is because he wants to make a play. Until Saban got here, he refused to even consider making a fair catch. He is still one of the most dangerous return men in the nation... especially when his blockers give him some room.

Seems like Javy is simply trying to hard and he thinks he has to run it back every time.
Atleast that's how it appears to the naked eye. His fumbles are caused by running before the catch or simply trying to make a play...instead of holding the ball.

It's hard to run it back, if the ball is on the turf. Again, I think he feels like making a good return is expected of him, so he tries to make a highlight reel, on every return. Sometimes letting it go or making a faircatch is as good as a highlight reel...if it means keeping the ball.

He'll shake it off.

~Bryan

Porter said: