| BSB/SB New era of Alabama baseball begins this weekend under Goff

18Champs

TUSCALOOSA, Ala. -- A new era of Alabama baseball will be on display this weekend as new head coach Greg Goff and the Crimson Tide open their 2017 season with a three-game series against Presbyterian College. But like most things, it will take time to employ a new coaching philosophy.

In his fourth stint as a head coach, Goff has admittedly mulled over 100 or more lineups every night when he returns home from Sewell-Thomas Stadium. That, along with the identity of his first Alabama team, are things he will allow to unfold on their own.

“That’s something for me as a new coach, I think, we’re going to feel our way through that a little bit,” Goff said. “When you bring in a new system -- you can do it in practice but when there’s five or six thousand people here and the lights come on, it’s a little bit different.

“Hopefully they’ll play aggressively like we’ve been doing in practice, because if we do that, we’re going to have a lot of fun.”

Goff inherited a veteran roster that will also feature some new faces he and his new staff helped lure to Tuscaloosa. And for the first-year head coach, it all starts with his returning pitchers.

The Crimson Tide enters the 2017 season with two-thirds of its weekend rotation intact from last year, including senior Nick Eicholtz and junior Jake Walters. Goff will call on the familiar pairing of Eicholtz and Walters for the weekend’s first two games and close it out with sophomore Dylan Duarte.

“I told Coach (Terry) Rooney that every time he calls a shutout, we’ll win. That’s how important they are,” Goff said of his returning pitchers. “But nah, to me we’ve got some good, quality starters, and hopefully we can -- for our offense especially -- try not to give up runs early so we can play with some confidence, a little bit more looseness. I think that’s going to be huge for us.