OT considering it is football related: "UAT is offically dead?"

TerryP

Staff
In the long standing tradition, one that will not cease, my morning surfing fueled by those cups of Joe that start the day, I came across this post on the 247network.

I've heard and seen the UAT references for years now. I know some that it upsets but as far as I'm concerned it was/is as petty as the corn dog monikers.

Never-the-less, I did find this post interesting.

As many of us know, for a considerable period of time, the barners and others have referred to the University of Alabama by many derogatory names. One name/acronym/abbreviation that I have always disliked is "UAT." I graduated from the "University of Alabama" not the University of Alabama, Tuscaloosa" or "UAT."

Finally, I had a discussion with a barner a while back and he kept saying we were UAT. I kept telling him that I didn't know what UAT was because I graduated from the "University of Alabama." He told me that we were officially the "University of Alabama at Tuscaloosa." I told him that we were not and my diplomas only say "University of Alabama." He told me that I needed to inform the NCAA because everything they had listed us as UAT.

Well, I decided to do something about it.

I wrote a letter to Dr. Witt and Mal Moore that read as follows:

"I have correspondended and spoken with both of you a few times in the past but it has been a while.

If I may, I would like to make a small request. Since I am not sure which of you would be the one that may handle this request, I am sending it to both of you.