| NEWS Xavier McKinney exclusive: Learning from Nick Saban and facing my brother Tua Tagovailoa - Sky Sports

B

Bama News

"I got to a point where I wanted to be as great as a player as he was as a coach. I wanted to get on his level."

"As far as the way I do things I try to make them as perfect as possible."

It's second-and-eight early in the first quarter, Western Carolina quarterback Tyrie Adams takes the snap. Xavier McKinney, lined up at free safety, could bite on tight end Parker Swaringen's go route but spots the play, simultaneously back-peddling, swivelling his hips and analysing the trajectory to beat Darius Ramsey to the ball for the pick on the hash marks.

Granted, the Alabama star faced more taxing challenges in 2019 than a 66-3 blowout against the Catamounts, but this was a nice play. A glimpse of the on-field intelligence and smooth footwork that attracted the New York Giants to him.

The latter is something McKinney is dedicated to polishing.

"I'm a technician so every time I go out there to work on the field as far as my footwork goes, I try to make sure it's as perfect as it can be," McKinney told Sky Sports.

"
If I go out there to work one day and feel like I messed up on a rep or felt like my feet weren't how I wanted them to be then I'll keep doing that same rep over and over again until I feel like 'okay, that's how I want to feel'."

Elegance to his footwork is matched by a burst at the line of scrimmage and brute force to his hits. Fail to block him at the blitz and there is little room to escape. Just ask Joe Burrow, the No 1 overall pick being sacked twice by No 15 in LSU's 46-41 win in November.

McKinney's versatility is a reflection of a work ethic well-aligned to the expectations of six-time National Championship-winning head coach Nick Saban, whose reputation alone demands production and commitment of the highest standard at Alabama.