| LIFE I’m leaving the company

bamaledge

Vigilate, et audax
I’ve been a store manager after 17 years. These last two years have been hell because of not enough help and/or sub par help and working a lot of hours but you get ridiculed if you’re sick.
I let them know I was putting in a two week notice and the first thing out of HR’s mouth was, “if you don’t put in a 4 week notice you’ll lose your earned vacation time.”
Not, what’s going on? How can we keep you? Or anything like that. I would like someone in corporate to ask themselves why a manager of 17 years would even consider leaving. Their loss.
Anyway, should I be totally honest in the exit interview or professional?
Pete

Thanks guys. I preciate your replies, and @planomateo, I’m like you. I really don’t care because if they wanted my opinion they would have asked already. I know they are glad to get rid of my salary and pay someone a half or a little more than half of what I make.

I let them know I was putting in a two week notice and the first thing out of HR’s mouth was, “if you don’t put in a 4 week notice you’ll lose your earned vacation time.”
Is anything like that included in your contract (assuming there is one?) Most of the people I know have this broken down, some to the hour.

I'd give them honest, professional feedback. Most companies won't give an honest reference these days, just "yes he/she worked here", but vindictive HR's can still hurt you. It sounds like this company lacks the vision to be inward or outward looking, though. I'd just follow their rules, get my pay for the leave, and be on my way.

Good luck to you. Many can't turn from the comfort of a familiar job, even if it's unhealthy for them. Are you leaving without another job, or is there something waiting for you?

RTR,

Tim